When was Dekanawida reborn

Avatar cycle

When an avatar dies, it will be reborn in the next nation following the cycle. Before Aang there were already over 100 other avatars that existed in alternating order (see below).

beginning and end

The first Avatar cycle started with Wan and ended with Korra, the second started with Avatar Korra and is not finished yet. The avatar is most powerful in the avatar state, but also the most vulnerable. This avatar cycle will cease should an avatar die in the avatar state, because then he will no longer be reborn.[1]

In the avatar state, he masters all elements, whether they have already been learned or not. The power of the avatars unites with that of the spirit of light, Raava. An avatar can contact his predecessors through meditation.[1]


The Avatar Cycle is an alliance between the first Avatar Wan and Raava: Wan has broken the equilibrium of the known world by separating Vaatu from Raava. Wan and Raava were able to defeat Vaatu together and seal it in the tree of time. In order to permanently secure the balance, Raava wanders into the newborn avatar after the death of an avatar.[1]

With the order of the Avatar cycle it is like the seasons[2]:


(summerautumnWinter →spring)


The concept of reincarnation / rebirth comes from Buddhism, which this from upanishadenic Have adopted Hinduism[3]. Whether a person is reborn after his death as an animal, human, demon, stone or hopefully more interesting, depends on the karma balance. If a person has done many good deeds in a lifetime, he accumulates positive karma on his karma account. With bad deeds he collects trivial negative karma. If a person is reborn as a person, their chance of breaking the cycle of reincarnation increases. The principle of reincarnation can also be found in nature: Ice becomes water, which in turn becomes steam. Molecules do not disappear, they change their structure.[4]

Hinduism and Buddhism differ in what is reborn. In Hinduism, man is reborn with reason, feelings, and desires. With this the soul is immortal (Atman). In Buddhism, on the other hand, there is no clarity. Even if the broad perception is that the soul is mortal, the line between Hinduism and Buddhism is fluid. In some Buddhist currents there can be an immortal soul.[5]

So can the wish to alleviate the suffering of other sentient beings to be born again (bodhisattva vows). The person in whom this wish resides is called Dalai Lamawho renounces nirvana.[6] The Avatar cycle is based on this principle. Here the avatar is the Dalai Lama and the bodhisattva spirit, which transmits the wish, is Raava. In the series, the avatar is visited by a commission, which is also the case with the Dalai Lama.

What are the striking differences between Hinduism and Buddhism? In the latter there is no caste system as in India. The Buddhist focuses his life on the present life and tries through good deeds and meditation to reach nirvana or at least to be reborn as a person.[5] The Hindu is fixated on the afterlife. The attempt is made to overcome rebirth through three or four ways (samsara): the way of knowledge (jnana yoga), the way of action (karma yoga), the way of love of God (bhakti yoga) and the way with special things Yoga exercises and meditation (Raja Yoga / King Yoga)[7]. The transition from Hiduism to Buddhism is fluid. This is just a rough summary.

The term avatar is derived from the Indian word avatara. It signifies the incarnation of a god or his power in the form of a human or an animal[8]


The formation of the avatar in the various types of taming should also follow this cycle and not be confused. As a born airbender, Aang therefore had to next have waterbending, then earthbending and was only allowed to learn firebending afterwards. The three seasons of Avatar: The Last Airbender are named according to the type of taming that is being learned. Since Korra comes from the Southern Water Tribe, she first learned earth and fire taming before starting airbending training.


Tenzin was named after the 14th Dalai Lama Tenzin Gyatsowho has been in office since February 20, 1940.

Individual evidence

  1. 1,01,11,2The Legend of Korra, Season 1, Book II - Ghosts, Episode 8 - How It All Began, Part 2
  2. ↑ The Lord of the Elements, Book I - Water, Episode 3 - The Southern Air Temple
  3. ↑ Helmut Zander. History of the transmigration of souls in Europe. Alternative religious traditions from ancient times to the present day. Primus publishing house. Darmstadt 1999. pp. 25 and 31-34
  4. ↑ Hans Wolfgang Schumann. Soul seekers versus soul deniers - The rebirth teachings of the Indian religions, in Perry Schmidt-Leukel (Ed.): The idea of ​​reincarnation in East and West. Munich: Diederichs 1996. pp. 14-28; here p. 23–26.
  5. 5,05,1'Rebirth': The Differences Between Hinduism and Buddhism. Buddhism in Everyday Life (February 27, 2017).
  6. ↑ Martin Brauen (ed.): The Dalai Lamas. Tibet's reincarnations of the Bodhisattva Avalokiteshvara. Ethnological Museum of the University of Zurich, Arnoldsche Verlagsanstalt, Stuttgart 2005, 3-89790-219-2.
  7. ↑ A.M. Boyer: Etude sur l'origine de la doctrine du samsara. Journal Asiatique, (1901), Volume 9, Issue 18, pp. 451-453, 459-468.
  8. ^ The Hindu procession of the ten Avatars is itself, as it were, a parable of evolution. Letters on Yoga. Vol. I. The Purpose of Avatarhood. March 13, 2007.